California Revels Staff & Board

There would be no Revels without the hard work and dedication of our Artistic Staff, Administrative Staff, Board of Directors, and Advisory Council.

Leadership Team

David Parr
Artistic Director

David has been an active theatre professional in the San Francisco Bay Area for the past thirty years. Trained at the University of Illinois (M.A. in Theatre) he has a background in dance, photography and videography as well. During his years as a professional actor, he performed and directed on many Bay Area stages and served for ten years as an elected representative for Actors' Equity Association. He joined the staff of the California Revels as Resident Director in 1990 and was appointed Artistic Director in 2005. He is a tenured professor on the Theatre Arts faculty of San Francisco City College, where he founded the critically acclaimed City Summer Opera. David has directed the Revels in Oakland for over twenty years, as well as the Revels in Tacoma, WA and the Oakland production of Noye's Fludde, featuring Revels founder Jack Langstaff. He resides in Oakland with his wife, Krista and two sons, Luke and William.

Shira Kammen
Music Director

Multi-instrumentalist and occasional vocalist Shira Kammen has spent well over half her life exploring the worlds of early and traditional music. A member for many years of the early music Ensembles Alcatraz and Project Ars Nova, and Medieval Strings, she has also worked with Sequentia, Hesperion XX, the Boston Camerata, the Balkan group Kitka, the King’s Noyse, the Newberry and Folger Consorts, the Oregon, California and San Francisco Shakespeare Festivals, and is the founder of Class V Music, an ensemble dedicated to providing music on river rafting trips. She has performed and taught in the United States, Canada, Mexico, Europe, Israel, Morocco, Latvia, Russia and Japan, and on the Colorado, Rogue, Green, Grande Ronde, East Carson and Klamath Rivers.

Jeri Reed

Anne Bingham Goess
Solstice Ensemble Director

Michele Sullivan
Production Manager

Lisa Lowe
Executive Director

Board of Directors

Gabriel Hurley, President ○  Bill Batty, Vice President ○ Kimberly St. Clair, Treasurer ○ Vacant, Secretary
M.C. Haug ○ Chas Schley ○ Michael Schmid ○ Carolyn Thiessen ○ 

Advisory Council

Ellin Barret ○ Helen Wills Brown ○ Bone Burke ○ Dirk Burns ○ Malcolm Carden ○ Fred Konkel ○ Carl Ludewig ○ David Metcalf  ○  Dr. Joel Parrott ○ Chelle Persoff ○ Marcia Vastine ○ Dave Watt ○ Andrew Williams